TCEP Virtual Annual Business Meeting and Board Update

August 2020

Normally held during the spring Connect conference, the annual business meeting was held virtually, July 1st due to the pandemic. A recap of the year was given, board and councillor elections were held and the proposed bylaws were approved. A few highlights:

Award recipients:

• Outstanding Committee award – Drs. Jessica Best and Sara Andrabi
• Michael Wainscott award – Dr. John Cambron
• James Hayes award – Dr. Robert Greenberg
• President’s award: Advocacy team: Imperium Public Affairs and Dr. Theresa Tran
• President Mentorship award – Dr. Lou Portera
• Best Resident Abstract Presentations – Mohammed Aly-Ahmed, MD and Zulay Zambrano, DO
• Best Student Abstract Presentation – Bryant Dixon

2020-21 Board of Directors Elected


(elected by Board)
Robert Hancock, DO, FACEP – President
Craig Meek, MD, FACEP – President Elect
Sterling Overstreet, MD, FACEP – Treasurer
Sandra Williams , DO, FACEP – Secretary
Hemant Vankawala, MD, FACEP – Immediate Past President


Jessica Best, MD – Young Physician Representative
Bryan Dunn*, MD, FACEP
Justin Fairless, DO, FACEP
Doug Jeffrey, MD, FACEP
Chi-Tam Nguyen – MD – Resident/ Candidate Member
Kayla Nusbaum – Medical Student Representative
Marcus Sims, DO, FACEP
Theresa Tran, MD, FACEP


The following Councillors to ACEP were elected for 2 year terms:
Sara Andrabi, MD
Robert Greenberg, MD, FACEP
Justin Hensley, MD, FACEP
Heidi Knowles, MD, FACEP
Sterling Overstreet, MD, FACEP
Dan Peckenpaugh, MD, FACEP
Lynn Rea, MD, FACEP
Marcus Sims, DO, FACEP
Theresa Tran, MD, FACEP
James Williams, MS, DO, FACEP


The proposed bylaws were adopted via a vote of all attendees.
To view the bylaws: TCEP Bylaws 2020.pdf


Top 5 Chapters:
Membership Comparison

California 3,682
New York 3,304
Texas 2,449
Florida 2,414
Michigan 2,211

Financial report as of May 31, 2010

Income: $475,762**
Expenses: $465, 794
Net income: $9,968

Total Liabilities: 1,404.444

**Connect was cancelled and all income (registrations, sponsorships and exhibits) was refunded.

*Since the July 1 business meeting election was held, Dr. Justin Hensley resigned. Following the bylaws, a vote was taken by the Board and Dr. Bryan Dunn was elected to fill the unexpired term which ends 2022.