Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Gregory J. Byrne - TCEP Past President
Share |

Gregory J. Byrne, MD FACEP

TCEP President 1996-1997

Medical School

University of Mississippi 1978


Charity 1981

Texas College of Emergency Physicians – Leadership and Contributions


President 2013-2014
President Elect 1995-1996
Treasurer 1993-1994
Secretary 1992-1993
Past President 1997-1998
Board of Directors


Councillor 1991-present
Alternate Councilor 1989-1990
EMPACT Board of Directors 1990-present
    Chair 1991-present
EMphasis Editor 1992
Membership Committee 1987-1992
    Chair 1989-1990
Legislation Committee 1990-2003
    Chair 1991-2003
Government Relations Committee 2004-present
    Chair 2004-present
Nominating Committee 1995
    Chair 1995
Trauma Task Force 1992
    Chair 1992
Manpower Task Force 1992
Education Committee

American College of Emergency Physicians – Leadership & Contributions


Practice Management Committee 1996-1998
Due Process Subcommittee 1996-1997
HMO Contracts Subcommittee 1996-1997


TCEP President's Award 1998

Comments and Reflections

I attended TCEP board meetings for 3 years before running for the board. They were nearby in Dallas and my sole purpose was to become a better Emergency Physician and Medical Director by learning about issues that faced us. I was mentored by past and then present leaders like Leonard Riggs, Dighton Packard, Jim Hayes and Ken Sherman and Wayne Shuricht. I was amazed at the wisdom and humility of all these leaders. Above all they taught me that being a leader is not about power but about being a servant. Eventually I was asked to run for the board. I am grateful for having had the opportunity to work with so many dedicated men and women who had unparalleled integrity, wisdom and warmth. A special thanks to Jim Coles and Nancy Davis who guided me throughout my presidency and kept me grounded and on track.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal